MTNA Foundation Fellows

The Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) Fellow program offers a meaningful method for honoring deserving individuals while supporting the efforts of the MTNA Foundation Fund through a donation to the Foundation Fund in an individual's name. Anyone can nominate and fund an MTNA Fellow.   Each year, the ISMTA board nominates one fellow, and raises funds to fund that fellow.  

To contribute to the MTNA Foundation Fund and help fund the ISMTA fellow, click the button below, check the box that reads "Foundation Fellow (enter name below)," and enter this year's fellow as the Fellow name.

For more information about the MTNA Foundation Fund, visit

2022 Foundation Fellow: Cathy Albergo

Cathy Albergo joined Florida Gulf Coast University in July 2012 as Director of the Bower School of Music and the Department of Theatre and Visual Art.  She was formerly Professor of Music and Chair of the Department of Music at the University of North Carolina Wilmington and Professor of Music and Chair of the Music Department at William Rainey Harper College in Palatine, Illinois.    

Professor Albergo is a curricular specialist in piano pedagogy and group piano teaching and has contributed numerous articles to professional keyboard journals.  She is co-author, with Reid Alexander, of the Piano Repertoire Guide published by Stipes Music Publishing Co. and is co-author, with Reid Alexander and Marvin Blickenstaff, of the  Celebration Series Perspectives®, Handbook for Teachers published by Frederick Harris Music Co., Limited.  In collaboration with J. Mitzi Kolar and Mark Mrozinksi, she co–authored the piano method Celebrate Piano!®, published by Frederick Harris Music Co., Limited. 

With degrees from the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, Southern Methodist University, Dallas, Texas and the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Professor Albergo is a nationally recognized authority on piano instruction and a frequent lecturer, adjudicator and workshop clinician.  In addition to her academic positions her leadership contributions include President of the Illinois State Music Teachers Association, Regional Chair of the National Association of Schools of Music, Membership Chair of the North Carolina Music Teachers Association and National Certification Chair of the Music Teachers National Association.


The following people have been designated MTNA Foundation Fellows in recognition of their extraordinary service to ISMTA:

Name Year
James Lyke 2001
Anna McGrosso 2001
Mary Veverka 2002
William Ronald YaDeau 2003
Frances H. Larimer 2006
Karen Rogers 2007
Kenneth O. Drake 2008
Elvina Truman Pearce 2008
Mary Beth Molenaar 2010
Brenda L. Conroy 2011
Phyllis A. Hill 2012
Frances I. Onley 2012
Linda K. Barker 2014
Rita Brown 2014
Marlene S. Chatain 2014
Emi Murata 2014
Helen Grosshans 2015
Lynd Corley 2016
Patricia Nyien 2017
Bruce Berr 2017
Ludmila Lazar 2018
Lynette Zelis 2019
Christopher Goldston 2020
Janice Razaq 2020
Craig Sale


Cathy Albergo 2022