ISMTA Teacher of the Year


Congratulations to our 2018 Teacher of the Year Frances Larimer!

Individuals and local associations are invited to nominate a member for ISMTA Teacher of the Year.  Teacher of the Year nominees must be a current ISMTA member. Nominees shall have made a significant contribution over an extended period of time to not only their teaching studio, but community, their local association and ISMTA. Contributions may be educational, creative, administrative, financial or service related, but should be significant in both scope and impact.

ISMTA Teacher of the Year will be honored at the ISMTA Conference at the Friday evening banquet.   Winner will also automatically be nominated for the MTNA Teacher of the Year Award.

To nominate a teacher, use the link below to submit the following:

  • Nominee’s contact information

  • 150 word bio (for publication in conference program)

  • 600 word letter of recommendation

  • High resolution photograph of nominee

  • Up to 5 supporting documents (not required)

Submissions are currently closed. 

Nominations can only be submitted using the following online link:


To complete the process, please email a high resolution headshot (minimum file size 1 MB) to  File title should contain member name (ex. JohnSmith.jpg) and the email subject line should say TOY HEADSHOT.


Additionally, up to 5 (five) supporting documents may be emailed to the same address, and may include additional letters of recommendation, recital programs, awards, newspaper articles, publications or other supporting documents.   Only digital files will be accepted (jpg, pdf, doc).

No more than one nomination per year will be accepted from each individual.  Please note that nominations which do not adhere to the aforementioned nomination process may be disregarded at the discretion of the Teacher of the Year Committee.

Past Recipients
2015  Heidi Mayer
2016 Janet Hickey
2017 Jennifer Cohen
2018 Frances Larimer