Local Associations

Local associations are the strength and backbone of ISMTA. Nineteen area groups and four collegiate chapters are located throughout the state.

  • Monthly meetings feature expert speakers.
  • Local organizations provide a great opportunity to network with like-minded colleagues.

Members are encouraged to get involved in ISMTA and chapter-sponsored programs.
 

Bloomington-Normal MTA (BNMTA)

Renee Chernick
Bloomington, IL
(309) 706-8315
rlchern@ilstu.edu

Champaign-Urbana MTA (CUMTA)

So Jung Kwak
Champaign, IL 
(217) 418-8954
sojkwak@gmail.com
www.cumta.org

Chicago Area MTA (CAMTA)

Christie Chiles Twillie
Chicago, IL 
(501) 590-2442
chilesca@aol.com
www.camta.org

Decatur Area MTA (DAMTA)

Pei-I Wang, NCTM
Chatham, IL 
(217) 303-3318
pwang@millikin.edu
www.damta.net

Egyptian Chapter MTA (ECMTA)

Donna M. Glaub
Carbondale, IL 
(618) 529-1767
dmglaub@msn.com
www.ecmusicteachers.org

Fox Hills MTA (FHMTA)

Cheryl Saathoff
McHenry, IL 
(815) 344-4432
cherylsaathoff32@gmail.com
www.foxhillsmta.org

Gateway Arch East (GAEMTA)

Deb Meier
Collinsville, IL 
(618) 344-0447
DebMeier70@gmail.com​
http://gatewaymusicteachers.org

Greater Rockford MTA (GRMTA)

Patricia Jeske
Rockford, IL 
(815) 519-5465
pjeske@rockford.edu
www.greaterrockfordmta.org

Kankakee Valley MTA (KVMTA)

Constance DeZwaan
1650 W 2250 N Rd
Bourbonnais, Illinois 60914
(815) 954-9379
justafrg@gmail.com

 

Naperville MTA (NMTA)

Sonja Mihelcic
Naperville, IL 
(630) 585-6000
napervillemusicacademy@yahoo.com
www.napervilleismta.org

North Shore MTA (NSMTA)

Debbie Gillette
Antioch, IL 
(224) 730-5279
debbiegillette1@gmail.com
www.nsmta.org

Northwest Suburban MTA (NWSMTA) 

Carol Walgren-Georgas
Long Grove, IL 
(847) 949-9179
hcgeorgas79@gmail.com
www.nwsmta.org

Peoria Area MTA (PAMTA)

Rosa Chang
Peoria, IL 
(309) 370-5232
rosachang2@gmail.com
www.pamta.org

Quincy Conservatory of Music - ISMTA (QCM-ISMTA) 

Adair Spencer
Quincy, IL 
(217) 228-0957
adairspencer@sbcglobal.net

Salt Creek MTA (SCMTA) 

Pamella Christensen
LaGrange, IL 
(708) 354-6977
bpchristensen@comcast.net
www.saltcreekmusicteachers.org

South Suburban (SSMTA)

Dora Diephouse, NCTM 
Palos Heights, IL 
(708) 361-1352
dora.diephouse@trnty.edu

Southwest Area Music Teachers Association (SAMTA) 

Kathy Hoster
Mokena, IL 
(815) 641-6812
keyed-up88@att.net
samtateachers.org

Waubonsee Valley MTA (WVMTA) 

Nancy Sen
Batavia, IL 
(630) 303-4904
nancy_sen@hotmail.com
www.wvmta.com

West Suburban MTA (WSMTA) 

Diane Jankiewicz
Carol Stream, IL
(630) 665-3925
djankiewicz@hotmail.com
www.wsismta.org

 

Collegiate Chapters

Illinois State University

Tuyen Tonnu, NCTM
Bloomington, IL
(216) 233-0833
ttonnu@ilstu.edu

Northwestern University

Marcia L. Bosits
Evanston, IL 
(847) 328-8001
m-bosits@northwestern.edu

Roosevelt University

Yeeseon Kwon, NCTM
Chicago, IL
(312) 322-7167
ykwon@roosevelt.edu

Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Junghwa Lee, NCTM
Carbondale, IL
jlee@siu.edu

University of Illinois

Christos Tsitsaros
Urbana, IL 
ctsitsar@illinois.edu

Western Illinois University

Dr. Natalie Landowski
NK-Landowski@wiu.edu

Wheaton College

Beth Bauer
Wheaton, IL
beth.bauer@wheaton.edu